Nepal Ends 10-Year Wait, Secures Spot in T20 World Cup 2024

Nepal's previous appearance in the T20 World Cup dates back to 2014.
November 3, 2023
2 mins read
T-20 World Cup Nepal

Kathmandu, Nepal – In a thrilling showdown on Friday, Nepal marked a historic return to the T20 World Cup, clinching a coveted spot in the upcoming 2024 tournament set to be hosted in the United States and the West Indies. The spirited Nepali team emerged victorious against the United Arab Emirates (UAE) at the Mulpani Ground in Kathmandu, winning the game by a comfortable margin of 8 wickets.

Nepal’s previous appearance in the T20 World Cup dates back to 2014 when the tournament was hosted in Bangladesh. Their pursuit of a target of 135 runs, set by UAE at the Moolpani ground, was propelled by an outstanding performance by Ashif Shaikh, who notched up an impressive 63 runs. Captain Rohit Paudel contributed 35 runs to the team’s success, with Gulsan Jha and Kushal Bhurtel chipping in with 22 and 11 runs, respectively.

Kushal Malla of Nepal played a pivotal role in halting UAE’s batting performance, taking three crucial wickets while conceding just 11 runs during his three overs. Sandeep Lamichhane also contributed with two wickets, and Sompal Kami and Rohit Paudel each claimed one wicket.

In addition to Nepal, Oman secured its place in the T20 World Cup during the qualifiers held in Kathmandu. With the inclusion of Nepal and Oman, the roster for the 2024 T20 World Cup is now complete, comprising a total of 18 teams. The top two host nations, the West Indies and the United States secured their positions directly.

Furthermore, eight cricketing giants, including Australia, England, India, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, and Sri Lanka, earned direct qualification based on their top-eight rankings in the 2022 T20 World Cup. Bangladesh and Afghanistan also clinched their spots post-tournament, courtesy of their high rankings.

Ireland, Scotland, Papua New Guinea, and Canada have successfully booked their places in the T20 World Cup through the T20 World Cup Regional Qualifiers. The final two entrants to the tournament will emerge from the Africa Qualifier Final, scheduled to take place in Namibia from November 20 to December 1. With an exciting mix of seasoned veterans and emerging cricketing talent, the 2024 T20 World Cup promises to be an electrifying event.

Yukesh Chaudhary

Chaudhary is the CEO of Niriv and also Scrilnow author for the Sports Category, He loves writing and watching sports events. Connect him on social media and read articles here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Don't Miss This!